Book Review: The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart by Stephanie Burgis

Book #15 of 2021:

The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart by Stephanie Burgis (Tales from the Chocolate Heart #1)

A cute little book about a young dragon who gets cursed into the body of a human and discovers her true passion for hot cocoa. Unfortunately, it has a few issues typical of the middle-grade fantasy genre, like shallow worldbuilding and under-explained character logic, and a few seemingly distinctive to author Stephanie Burgis, like having someone see the protagonist’s new form and say she “can’t be more than twelve years old” on three or four separate occasions (over the course of this not particularly long tale). Still, it’s not all bad, and the storyline improves as it goes along and gathers more stakes. I doubt I’ll pick up the sequels, but I’d recommend this volume for a younger reader whose interests it checks.

★★★☆☆

–Subscribe at https://patreon.com/lesserjoke to support these reviews and weigh in on what I read next!–

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started