Movie Review: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier (1989)

Movie #19 of 2016:

Star Trek V: The Final Frontier (1989)

Much like The Search for Spock, it seems like not a whole lot happens in this film. It’s basically just Spock’s brother trying to recruit the Enterprise crew into joining his weird cult thing, with no real stakes or clear reason for bringing back these characters yet again.

I’ve been surprised by how different the TOS movie series is from the show that preceded it. I like them both – okay, I like certain sections of both – but I really was expecting the movies to just be like longer episodes of the show, kind of how TAS was essentially just shorter episodes. But the movie franchise really is its own thing. It feels like a very distinct series from the show, and this is unfortunately one of the weaker installments.

★★☆☆☆

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started