Book Review: The Last Policeman by Ben H. Winters

Book #114 of 2017:

The Last Policeman by Ben H. Winters (The Last Policeman #1)

Apocalyptic fiction and detective stories are two genres that I particularly enjoy, but I believe this is the first time I’ve ever seen them blended. The result is The Last Policeman, a novel about a detective trying to solve the case in front of him despite the fact that a humanity-ending asteroid has been detected on an unavoidable collision course with Earth. Six months before the impact, as society crumbles and many people are either killing themselves or quitting their jobs to pursue their bucket lists, Hank remains intent on doing the police work he always has. It’s an interesting take on the stoic upright lawman character, and a decent detective story amid a very distinct setting.

★★★★☆

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Join the Conversation

2 Comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started