Book Review: Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry

Book #145 of 2016:

Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry (The Giver #2)

Not nearly as good as The Giver, and also entirely unconnected despite being marketed as a companion novel / sequel. (I’ve been told they tie together in a later book in the series, but on their own this one and The Giver are entirely independent.) There are some hints of intriguing worldbuilding here – I quite liked the detail that people in Kira’s community get extra syllables added to their name as a sign of age / respect – but the twists are obvious, the main character doesn’t take much initiative, and the threadbare story ends without much resolution. I’m going to keep reading the series on the strength of The Giver, and maybe I’ll appreciate this entry better once I see what follows. But for now, Gathering Blue is a bit of a disappointment.

★★☆☆☆

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started