Movie Review: Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)

Movie #5 of 2017:

Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)

I hadn’t seen this movie since it was in theaters, and my wife hadn’t seen it at all, so we streamed it through Amazon before heading out to see the sequel. Even three years later, it’s still really impressive how much this movie stakes out its own territory while still feeling recognizably like it belongs in the same universe as the other MCU properties. The talented cast and the terribly funny writing help make this film so great – in addition to the very smart use of its 80s pop soundtrack – but what really sticks with me is how it seems to open up the Marvel movies to new and wildly different possibilities. Guardians of the Galaxy would probably have never been made, let alone made in the same continuity of earthbound superhero flicks, had it not been for the success of the MCU movies that came before. But still this is the moment where that franchise really takes off for me.

★★★★★

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started