Book Review: Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

Book #242 of 2017:

Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo (Grisha #2)

Two books in, I’m still pretty lukewarm on this trilogy. It’s good enough to keep reading, especially for the extra background on author Leigh Bardugo’s superior semi-sequel series Six of Crows, but far too much time is spent on the main character’s love triangle with an evil abuser and a jealous sulking man-baby, neither of whom Bardugo has convinced me is anything special. The plot too is fine but not groundbreaking, without much to elevate it above its YA fantasy tropes. (One new character is a rare breath of fresh air, but he’s not a major enough presence in the text to make up for the rest. And I’m not too excited about a love triangle becoming a love quadrangle, either.) Hopefully the last book will bridge the quality gap between the rest of the trilogy and Six of Crows, but at this point, I’m not exactly holding my breath.

★★★☆☆

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Join the Conversation

2 Comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started