Book Review: How to Set a Fire and Why by Jesse Ball

Book #258 of 2017:

How to Set a Fire and Why by Jesse Ball

The troubled teenage anarchist (and budding arsonist) at the heart of this story got under my skin in the best way. She’s so well-drawn in her roughness and her vulnerabilities, with her darkly biting perspective on life immediately distinctive and unforgettable. She’s a Holden Caulfield for a whole new generation, with less posturing and more focus on burning out injustice at its root. I think someone like Lucia Stanton would scare me a little in real life, but as a fictional character I just want to protect her and rave about her to anyone who’ll listen. I wish this book were longer, but it still gets my highest recommendation as is.

★★★★★

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started