Book Review: Warp by Lev Grossman

Book #28 of 2018:

Warp by Lev Grossman

It turns out this short first novel by The Magicians author Lev Grossman went out of print for a reason, and the success of that later work doesn’t really justify this new edition. You can almost see the origins of Magicians hero Quentin Coldwater in its aimless protagonist if you squint, but the book is mostly just self-indulgent angst and an interior monologue of sporadic pop culture quotes. It’s like the worst parts of The Catcher in the Rye and Ready Player One combined, and if it had been any longer I don’t think I would have bothered finishing it.

★☆☆☆☆

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started