Book Review: The Black Ice by Michael Connelly

Book #82 of 2019:

The Black Ice by Michael Connelly (Harry Bosch #2)

I’m of two minds about this second Bosch novel. On the one hand, the detective and his associates feel more like the versions that I know from the TV adaptation of the series, which presumably means that they’ve settled more into their long-term characterization. And I can’t complain about the storyline itself, which is a solid enough police procedural. Yet on the other hand, a lot of the plot beats feel copied straight out of the first book, from a man Harry knows turning up dead to the final one-on-one standoff after a chase through a tunnel. It’s still enjoyable, but perhaps just a touch formulaic.

★★★☆☆

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started