Book Review: The Comfort Book by Matt Haig

Book #244 of 2021:

The Comfort Book by Matt Haig

I’m not entirely sure how to rate this title, which is basically a loose collection of the pep talks, life lessons, and gentle reminders that author Matt Haig has found helpful in dealing with his anxiety and depression. It’s a self-help book, sort of, and I suspect most readers will find certain passages to be of greater relevance for themselves than others. (As someone who can’t stand the taste and mouthfeel of hummus, for instance, I personally don’t get much out of the writer’s ode to why he loves it as a comfort food.) Still, there’s a lot here that does resonate with my experiences of mental health struggles, both in articulating what it can feel like and in highlighting potential strategies of response. I wish the text had more of a guiding structure or overarching point, but it’s short enough that I’d recommend it to anyone, with the caveat that you might want to pick and choose which parts to incorporate into your own self-care.

★★★☆☆

–Subscribe at https://patreon.com/lesserjoke to support these reviews and weigh in on what I read next!–

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started