TV Review: Louie, season 5

TV #28 of 2015:

Louie, season 5

This latest run of Louie is far from Louis C.K.’s best work, but it’s also not bad enough yet for me to stop watching if the series ends up coming back for another round. If nothing else, I’m pretty invested in Jane and Lily’s development at this point, especially when it involves calling out their dad on his many failures.

Plus I just find the inherent tension between Louis as a writer and Louie as an autobiographical character really fascinating. What does it mean when the show treats Louie as a massive jerk? What does it imply about how the auteur creator sees himself? These are the questions that keep me tuned in — along with the absurdist elements like the airport announcement welcoming those passengers who are afraid or dying to now board their flight. I love that stuff, too.

★★★☆☆

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started