TV Review: Bosch, season 1

TV #8 of 2016:

Bosch, season 1

This is an Amazon original series that I had never heard of before my dad recommended it to me. (It’s based on one of his favorite book series.) I’m glad he did, though. It’s a pretty solid police procedural, with a single storyline spanning the season rather than individual episodic plots. I know some people hate that format, but I don’t feel like it’s a problem especially when a whole season of a show can be binged like this. My only real complaint is that Lance Reddick is pretty much phoning it in at this point – his police chief character in this series is basically the exact same person he played in both The Wire and Fringe, and individually any of those performances is great, but it’s kind of a drain once you realize he plays all of them the same.

Anyway, if you like things like Silence of the Lambs and True Detective, you’ll probably enjoy Bosch as well. The serial killer plotline is maybe just a tad over the top, but I’ll definitely be watching the second season when it drops next month.

★★★☆☆

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started