TV Review: Supergirl, season 1

TV #17 of 2016:

Supergirl, season 1

Supergirl had a very uneven first season, and I can’t shake the suspicion that I am nowhere near young enough to be the intended audience for this show – but Melissa Benoist is just so great in the lead role that I’m willing to overlook a lot of that. (Plus that crossover episode with The Flash was pretty much the most joyous superhero story I have ever seen in my life.) Most shows improve over time as the writers get a better sense of what works and what doesn’t, and there’s already been signs of that on Supergirl with the character growth of Hank Henshaw and Cat Grant, who were both pretty flat stock characters at the beginning of this show. I just hope the writers are given a second season to continue honing this story.

★★☆☆☆

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started