TV Review: The West Wing, season 3

TV #40 of 2016:

The West Wing, season 3

My wife and I are still making our way through this show for her first time and my nth. The third season holds up pretty well, even though this was the one that began airing shortly after 9/11. There are definitely some plot decisions that I’m sure were not in the original plan for the show, and it’s got some growing pains to adjust to the new reality.. (On the other hand, though, what work of popular American fiction from the past 15 years hasn’t been affected by 9/11 in some way or another?)

Anyway, The West Wing’s pivot toward Middle Eastern terrorism isn’t handled all that terribly, and now we get to dive into the election episodes at the beginning of season 4. I don’t like this storyline as much as I do the election at the end of the show, but it’ll still be fun to watch as the actual US election draws closer.

★★★☆☆

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started