TV Review: Game of Thrones, season 1

TV #27 of 2017:

Game of Thrones, season 1

We’re watching this show for my wife’s first time and as my first rewatch after catching the seasons basically as they aired. (I believe I binged season 1 just before season 2 started, then watched live from then on. But I’ve never before gone back and rewatched even a single episode, I think.)

It definitely holds up well, although the early episodes really throw a lot of exposition at you in terms of who these people are and how they’re all connected. The twists land well too, even knowing what’s coming. It’s surprising to rediscover which characters and plot events loomed large in the early days given how much the landscape of the show has changed over the years, and it’s definitely a little jarring to realize how much the child actors have changed in appearance. But still: good fun, and I’m glad that Gabby’s liking it, since I wasn’t really sure in advance whether it would be up her alley or not.

★★★★☆

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started