TV Review: House of Cards, season 5

TV #45 of 2017:

House of Cards, season 5

We had watched all but the last two episodes of this season before the Kevin Spacey news broke, and we finally got around to finishing it up. Even if you set aside everything we now know about the star actor, this was a pretty awful season of television (hence why it took us so long to get through it). Characters have no stable motivations or relationships with one another, the Underwoods can somehow see every political move coming a million miles away and still make really really senseless missteps, and the plot makes no sense and carries no weight. I really liked this show for the first season or two, but it had become a shell of itself even before Netflix fired its lead. Maybe the next (final) season will reinvent itself without Spacey, but I’m not exactly holding my breath.

★☆☆☆☆

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started