TV Review: Stranger Things

TV #47 of 2017:

Stranger Things

I know I’m about a year behind on this, but this show was a lot of fun. It wears its 80s homages right there on its sleeve, and although it never quite deconstructs those inherited tropes as much as I’d like, it at least manages to surprise me with unexpected character growth (most notably Hopper, Nancy, and Steve). Mostly it feels like something that could have been made three decades ago, and while sometimes that comes off as unoriginal and falling short of the show’s potential, it’s still a cozy comfort watch for fans of that era.

★★★★☆

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started