TV Review: Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., season 5

TV #26 of 2018:

Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., season 5

The finale of this season is outstanding, especially for the closure on Coulson and Fitz’s respective character arcs, but I’m not as sold on some of the episodes that get us there. Although the season has clearly been written with the knowledge that it might be the last one, it sometimes feels like that pressure on the writers to avoid loose ends has resulted in over-tidy solutions and an unnecessary amount of wheel-spinning throughout. (I’m also still kind of unclear on how exactly the apocalyptic timeline from the start of the season ultimately gets averted, but as usual with time travel, I’m more or less willing to just roll with it.) The final episode this season really could – and perhaps should – have closed the door on this chapter of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, and I worry that the show is never again going to hit the heights of last season’s Framework storyline. But I’m still enjoying this series for the most part, and I’m definitely on board to see what next season will look like.

★★★☆☆

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Join the Conversation

2 Comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started