TV Review: Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, season 1

TV #40 of 2018:

Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, season 1

This musical comedy starts off strong and only gets better from there. The original numbers – generally two per episode, spanning a wide range of different musical styles – are all hilarious, but it’s the focus on character work that really makes this program soar as it goes along. I put off watching for a long time because of the title, but it actually engages with mental health issues in a serious and nuanced way (without ever losing the humor). I love it, and I keep getting all the songs stuck in my head.

★★★★★

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started