TV Review: The Middleman, season 1

TV #43 of 2018:

The Middleman, season 1

My latest rewatch of this action-comedy cult classic, which lasted only 12 episodes on ABC Family in 2008 before getting tragically canceled. I guess I’m not surprised that the show struggled to find an audience, but it really is so much fun, with witty dialogue, clever pop culture references, and loads of meta humor about the medium. Each episode offers goofy comic-book / B-movie plots, as our heroes fight off all threats “infra-, extra-, and juxta-terrestrial.” It’s worth seeking out if you’ve never seen it before, especially for the talented cast (of whom only Natalie Morales and Mark Sheppard have gone on to have much of a career after this). I don’t think it’s streaming anywhere, but if you’re one of my IRL friends or otherwise live nearby, I’m happy to loan you my DVDs.

★★★★☆

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started