Book Review: Race to the Sun by Rebecca Roanhorse

Book #45 of 2020:

Race to the Sun by Rebecca Roanhorse

A delightful middle-grade fantasy novel that incorporates elements of traditional Navajo folklore while avoiding the paint-by-numbers plot that such modernizations often entail. (I hesitate to call the work #ownvoices, since author Rebecca Roanhorse is not Navajo herself and she makes clear in an afterword that she isn’t speaking for or from the culture. But as a fellow Native American married into that tribe, she does bring a certain authenticity to the project.) The plucky twelve-year-old protagonist is a joy to root for along her quest, and I love how the narrative rewards her for her bravery and selflessness alike. This is a standalone book for now, but I’d happily come back for a sequel.

★★★★☆

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started