TV Review: Brooklyn Nine-Nine, season 7

TV #11 of 2020:

Brooklyn Nine-Nine, season 7

Another solid run of this police workplace comedy (sitcop?), reliably delivering jokes but not really knocking it out of the park anymore. Brooklyn Nine-Nine has an unfortunate tendency to shy away from follow-through on any big narrative moves, and sure enough, this batch of episodes swiftly reverts to the usual status quo rather than commit to the demotion cliffhanger from the year before. And that risk aversion in writing tends to limit the impact of the comedy, for me. I do still enjoy hanging out with these characters, but I feel like it’s been a while now since the series really delivered on its full potential.

★★★☆☆

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started