TV Review: The Twilight Zone, season 1

TV #44 of 2020:

The Twilight Zone, season 1

In its first year, the latest iteration of this classic anthology series offers a collection of interesting and well-acted premises that never quite stick the landing for a successful denouement. Every episode seems to either trail off without a point or descend into heavy-handed moralizing, and although I recognize the same could be said for much of the original show, I think I expected better from new creator and narrator Jordan Peele. It’s one thing to end on an ironic twist or have the host himself offer a pithy summary of the lesson learned, but too often this season the characters themselves are tasked with delivering that exposition, which is a bit of a drag.

My favorite entry is probably “Replay,” which uses a time-loop scenario to explore how the dangers of racism can’t always be mitigated by smart choices alone, and I also like the meta approach of the final hour “Blurryman,” even if some of its particular plot beats feel baffling in the context of its conclusion. The casting throughout this run is pretty great, and on balance I’m certainly engaged enough to keep watching (especially since each story is so different), but I would say the program isn’t really living up to its potential just yet.

[Content warning for police violence, gun violence, sexual assault, rape culture, and deportation.]

★★★☆☆

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started