TV Review: Kim’s Convenience, season 1

TV #1 of 2021:

Kim’s Convenience, season 1

I like the distinctive perspective of centering a sitcom around a Korean-Canadian family running a convenience store, but I could do without all the stubborn bigotry of patriarch Mr. Kim. While it never feels as though we’re meant to side with his racism, sexism, homophobia, etc., too many jokes seem to involve his relatives simply rolling their eyes at the latest instance of close-mindedness. Is this how older audiences felt watching Archie Bunker? The show humanizes its lead and ascribes a lot of what he says to cultural or generational differences, but I hope future seasons adopt the Michael Scott approach of softening his rough edges as well.

Structurally, it’s interesting how the son Jung is on the outs with his dad, creating two separate social universes that occasionally glance off one another but seldom meaningfully intersect. Finding more ways to organically bring those stories together would also benefit the series, in my opinion. Over on his side of the plot, I’m not a big fan of the boss’s inappropriate flirtations either, although the situation gets better once it’s established that he has some sort of feelings for her in return.

Overall, these first thirteen episodes represent a flawed but fun debut, and I haven’t even said anything about the two female leads and how they help puncture the bravado of their husband/father. The biggest sense I’m getting right now is one of untapped potential, and I’m eager to see if the writers manage to channel that into a stronger whole going forward.

★★★☆☆

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started