TV Review: Kim’s Convenience, season 2

TV #3 of 2021:

Kim’s Convenience, season 2

A slight improvement over the first year of this Canadian sitcom, both by making Appa a bit less caustically opinionated and by finally introducing some plot developments at the end of the season that speak to exciting shake-ups ahead. For now, though, it’s a lot of status quo, with little sign of the ongoing storylines or character growth that usually help draw me into a series. (I hate the sense that a show’s episodes could basically be watched all out of order to no detriment or confusion, and that’s roughly the case here.) I’m still enjoying most of these half-hour installments individually, but the program has yet to really wow me as a whole.

★★★☆☆

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started