Book Review: The Listerdale Mystery by Agatha Christie

Book #51 of 2021:

The Listerdale Mystery by Agatha Christie

A fine collection of short stories, although perhaps a bit too similar to one another overall. Despite the title, these are not mysteries in author Agatha Christie’s usual sense; there are no investigations or clues that a clever reader can race to put together before one of her detective figures. Instead, most of the entries here are more like action thrillers, with excitingly unpredictable twists and a heavy reliance on mistaken identity. Characters pick up the wrong car, or trousers, or telephone call, and swiftly find themselves swept into someone else’s adventure. Others are specifically asked to swap places with a doppelgänger to draw off pursuit. It’s a fun departure from the writer’s typical style, but all those variations on the common theme do begin to feel a bit rote by the volume’s end.

[Content warning for racism, antisemitism, and use of words that have since become slurs.]

★★★☆☆

–Subscribe at https://patreon.com/lesserjoke to support these reviews and weigh in on what I read next!–

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

  1. Agatha Christie is one of my all time favourite author… I have read a couple of books by her and I’m looking forward to read more of her books. I read a lot of thrillers but the best thing I like about Agatha Christie is that her books are light, quick read and I’m able to finish it in one sitting… 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started