Book Review: Murder in the Mews by Agatha Christie

Book #177 of 2021:

Murder in the Mews by Agatha Christie (Hercule Poirot #18)

Four solid but generally unremarkable short mystery stories, also published in the US under the title Dead Man’s Mirror. There are murders disguised as suicides and vice versa, stolen military documents (in one of author Agatha Christie’s rare moments of letting real-world political developments inform her writing), and a weird beach holiday where Poirot predicts that someone might end up killed but makes little effort to stop it. This deep into his series, I need clever twists on the familiar formulas to really wow me, and this is largely paint-by-numbers detective work instead. It’s hardly the worst of its lot, but it’s probably not a book I’d particularly recommend, either.

[Content warning for homophobia, sexism, and ethnic slurs.]

★★★☆☆

–Subscribe at https://patreon.com/lesserjoke to support these reviews and weigh in on what I read next!–

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started