TV Review: Classic Doctor Who, season 5

TV #8 of 2023:

Classic Doctor Who, season 5

I guess I have to concede, based on the average ratings I give its seven component serials below, that this season of old Doctor Who is still narrowly more good than great overall. But it’s easily my favorite of this rewatch yet, with some fun minor continuity across it: The Web of Fear is a direct sequel to The Abominable Snowmen, revisiting its antagonist, minions, and a helpful ally after four decades away (or a few weeks, for the Doctor and his friends), and the first and last adventures of the year both find the TARDIS team going up against Cybermen. For a modern fan, this run also introduces the sonic screwdriver, Ice Warriors, and major recurring character Alistair Gordon Lethbridge-Stewart, each of which is neat to see debut even though absolutely nothing at the time indicates they’ll have any future importance to the franchise.

Victoria is in most of these stories, and she’s not my favorite companion, since her role seems often reduced to a screaming hostage and/or wet blanket. But dependable Jamie remains for the physical action, the fish-out-of-water / culture clash element, and his verbal sparring with the Doctor, and in the final installment, brave sheltered neurodivergent genius Zoe stows away to join the crew as well. The two of them will be with the Second Doctor for the remainder of his tenure, and she’s already showing more personality and initiative than her predecessor. While I don’t remember the following season too clearly, I’m feeling optimistic that this is where Classic Who is really settling into a groove of consistent quality sci-fi.

Serials ranked from worst to best:

★★☆☆☆
FURY FROM THE DEEP (5×29 – 34)

★★★☆☆
THE ICE WARRIORS (5×11 – 5×16)
THE ABOMINABLE SNOWMEN (5×5 – 10)

★★★★☆
THE WEB OF FEAR (5×23 – 5×28)
THE WHEEL IN SPACE (5×35 – 5×40)
THE ENEMY OF THE WORLD (5×17 – 5×22)
THE TOMB OF THE CYBERMEN (5×1 – 5×4)

Overall rating for the season: ★★★☆☆

Like this review?
–Throw me a quick one-time donation here!
https://ko-fi.com/lesserjoke
–Subscribe here to support my writing and weigh in on what I read next!
https://patreon.com/lesserjoke
–Follow along on Goodreads here!
https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/6288479-joe-kessler
–Or click here to browse through all my previous reviews!
https://lesserjoke.home.blog

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started