TV Review: Avatar: The Last Airbender, season 1

TV #41 of 2015:

Avatar: The Last Airbender, season 1

I know this is close to sacrilege in certain circles, but I’m pretty thoroughly underwhelmed by this acclaimed cartoon series so far. It’s very… adequate? I guess it feels kind of like the show ReBoot to me: above average children’s entertainment with some occasional cool stuff for the adults to pick up on. But the difference is that I grew up watching ReBoot and thus have a soft spot in my heart for its foibles, whereas I’m coming at Avatar in my late 20s. I don’t want to rag on a program that everyone else loves, but I shouldn’t still feel this lukewarm about it an entire season in.

★★☆☆☆

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started