Book Review: Rooftoppers by Katherine Rundell

Book #199 of 2017:

Rooftoppers by Katherine Rundell

This is such a warm, cozy story of a baby found floating in a cello case after a shipwreck and the absentminded scholar who adopts her. Other characters may not understand Charles and Sophie’s unique little family, but they’re happy with one another and I just wanted to curl up inside that happiness and drowse.

When it looks like twelve-year-old Sophie will be forced to leave Charles and live in an orphanage, the two of them follow a tenuous clue about her mother’s identity to Paris, where they meet the roof-dwelling homeless children who give the book its title. This part didn’t give me as fuzzy a feeling, but it was still pleasingly reminiscent of the classic children’s novel From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler (only even better, since it lacked that book’s feeling of well-off kids slumming it on a lark). All in all a very cute story, and an immediate placement on the shortlist for books I’ll read to my own children one day.

★★★★☆

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started