TV Review: Dead to Me, season 1

TV #25 of 2019:

Dead to Me, season 1

This show has such well-drawn characters and thoughtful-yet-funny explorations of grieving, unfortunately coupled with a completely ludicrous storyline. I generally don’t mind telenovela-style twists in my fiction, but the mood of the piece really has to be heightened in some way for that approach to work, and it’s a perpetual non-starter in an otherwise grounded world like this one. As a result, those over-the-top plot developments cut against the meditative strengths of the series, muddying the overall effect.

★★★☆☆

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Join the Conversation

2 Comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started