TV Review: Dead to Me, season 2

TV #17 of 2020:

Dead to Me, season 2

The first season of this show felt somewhat at war with itself, trying to marry a serious exploration of grief with an over-the-top, twist-heavy plot in a way that ultimately hindered either aim. This time around, the writers have largely jettisoned the former element — and although that’s the one I greatly preferred, I can’t argue that the end result is a stronger and more cohesive narrative. It’s ludicrous as heck, but still good fun and a worthy successor to the suburban bloodshed of Santa Clarita Diet.

The storyline kind of peters out in the last few episodes, though, and writing off Natalie Morales so early is, as usual, a grave mistake. I imagine this series will follow the usual Netflix pattern and end after its third year, but at this point that feels like it might be more of a blessing than a curse.

★★★☆☆

Find me on Patreon | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Published by Joe Kessler

Book reviewer in Northern Virginia. If I'm not writing, I'm hopefully off getting lost in a good story.

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started